DISSONA Debut First Single “Odium” Via Metal Underground

Chicago’s progressive metal masterminds DISSONA meld a dynamic range of musical styles, developing an incredibly moving, diverse sound.  DISSONA consistently captivates their fans with their mesmerizing songs, powerful live performances and poignant lyrical themes, including sentience, emotion, sexuality, and much more.

The band’s new album Paleopneumatic will be released January 15th and is now available for pre-order HERE. A preview featuring snippets from the album can be heard HERE.  Today Metal Underground is hosting an exclusive premiere of the album’s first single “Odium”.  Listen to the stream HERE or below!

” ‘Odium’ is a metaphorical character profile of a being with little to no regard for the preservation of life. From a musical standpoint, the song develops and builds through several rhythmic and melodic changes until reaching an immense climax. All the while, maintaining a dark, exotic atmosphere”, explains the band to Metal Underground

Paleopneumatic is the band’s most ambitious release to date, it epitomizes DISSONA‘s endeavors to date and brings the listener on an existential, cohesive journey with gripping melodies, expertly-crafted arrangements, and impassioned vocals.

DISSONA formed from the ashes of a previous band involving Matt Motto, David Dubenic, and Craig Hamburger.  David and Craig come from a mostly classical and extreme metal background while Drew and Matt bring in additional elements of jazz experience and other more eclectic music.  Since DISSONA‘s inception, they have approached writing music to always be experienced as an album, a package of disparate influences and moods meant to achieve a unified whole.  This melting pot of influences has gradually coalesced since the writing of their earliest material, through the defining Dissona album, and now into its most complete form with Paleopneumatic.  Seven years in and a multitude of mostly memorable gigs later DISSONA have found what they initially set out to achieve. 

DISSONA has graced the stage with artists such as Unexpect, Sigh, Opeth, High on Fire, Cynic, Three, Fate’s Warning, Symphony X, Dark Tranquility, Twelve Foot Ninja, Leprous, Etc.


Paleopneumatic Track Listing:
1. Another Sky
2. Fire-Bellied
3. Outside the Skin
4. Breach
5. Totality
6. Odium
7. Anastomosis
8. Lysis
9. The Last Resistance
10. Sunderance



David Dubenic – Vocals
Matt Motto – Guitars
Craig Hamburger – Bass
Drew Goddard – Drums/Percussion


For More Info Visit:



About The Author

Bringer of rants. Drinker of booze. Pirate. Troll. Star-nosed mole.

Related Posts